Julia Whitty

Julia Whitty is the author of fiction and nonfiction (Deep Blue Home: An Intimate Ecology of Our Wild Ocean, The Fragile Edge: Diving and Other Adventures in the South Pacific, A Tortoise for the Queen of Tonga: Stories). She is the winner of an O. Henry Award, a PEN USA Award, a John Burroughs Medal Award, the Kiriyama Prize, the Society of Environmental Journalists Award, the John Bartlow Martin Award, the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism, the Rona Jaffe Foundation Award, the Bernice Slote Award, a National Magazine Award, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and other awards.